I love puppies

Tonight we watched Where the Red Fern Grows because Dave Matthews is in it. I haven’t read that book in years but it seemed to stick to the book relatively well. It wasn’t anything to write home about (but write internets about…YOU BETCHA!) because all of the really dramatic scenes were strangely anti-climactic but I cried like a baby at the end, just like I cried like a baby at the end of the book.

Growing up in Oklahoma, you’re kind of force-fed things by Wilson Rawls. Or at least we were. Maybe because we were only loosely disconnected from the Ozarks? We were the Ozarks by proxy or something. Anyway, I grew up reading WTRFG and Summer of the Monkeys several times a year. I’m looking forward to getting a library card so I can check them out and read them again.

Also? Dave was really hot in overalls. That is all.

Posted on September 23, 2008, in Adventures with Sparkle Pants, All about Sparkle Pants, Boys are pretty, Dave Matthews Band, Pretty happy fun friends, Rambling. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I still have the horrible image i painted in my mind when they read that book to us for the first time. Seriously, who decided it’s a good idea to read Old Yeller and WTRFG to children?

    I found all my paperbacks in the shed the other day. The first on my list to read is Trapped in Death Cave, and then A Dog Called Kitty of course. :D

  2. A Dog Called Kitty!!!

    Also wrong to read to kids: The Bridge to Terabithia. lol

  3. I had to read Lord of the Flies in school. I feel like I missed out… I never read Where the Red Fern Grows.

  4. Read it! It’s so good!

