Come pick me up

You know, the only problem with having people over to your house is that eventually they leave (it’s not like they have a forty minute drive or anything, jeez) and you’re left in a place with a lot of space to fill. Two of my good friends came over tonight and the three of us sat in the den and talked for a good long while about a lot of different things. I had a very pleasant time and am glad they came over because this morning got off to a rough start. I read a particularly bad-feeling-inducing post at Shapely Prose (see right for link to that blog) and that coupled with a bizarre dream in which someone I care about a great deal nearly got his head forcibly removed from his body made for a pretty meh kind of day. I cleaned (and how, which is surprisingly because the house didn’t seem that dirty to begin with) (of course, my fervency could have been related to the icky feeling, which actually started several nights ago when I watched Hope Floats on TV before going to sleep because that movie, while enjoyable, sometimes really makes me feel awful because of the things it makes me remember, and last night, I didn’t go to bed until 3:30 or so because the itchy crazies were tapping me on the shoulder and really, I was folding laundry at 2am and at 3am, I was spraying a stain on the carpet with Woolite with OxyClean, so really, today was pretty much a wash)…

I got lost in my own parenthetical.

My point is that tonight was a sigh of relief and now I am listening to my Ryan Adams Radio playlist (created on iTunes, with the helpful guidance of Pandora — Ryan Adams, The Jayhawks, Whiskeytown, Band of Horses, Sun Kil Moon, Ray LaMontagne, and The Shins) whilst sipping a glass of Merlot. Later, once I have satisfied my wine quota for the evening, I will go climb in bed with a movie. But for now? Well, for now, I’m going to feed the mouse.

Posted on March 29, 2008, in Adventures with Sparkle Pants, All about Sparkle Pants, Bullet In the Brain-Pan, Dreams, Fat Pants, Pretty happy fun friends, Rambling, Sisterhood of the Traveling Mice. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Isn’t it interesting how we can get sucked into the yuck? And it’s always cumulative in my case. Sad movie, bad dream, things not right with a friend, and then bang! Bad day ahead! The best part is however, that it’s just a day and it can be different with a good night’s sleep. Rest on it and see how you are tomorrow….

