Calories in, calories out

This morning on one of my ventures to and from the airport, I heard an interview with Indra Nooyi, PepsiCo’s first female CEO. At first, I was really excited about this interview. Here she is, living out the American dream (well, the American dream for people who aren’t, you know, American): at 23 she moved to the States to attend business school and from there, she kind of kicked ass and eventually became the CEO of a major corporation. She was in the first female Indian rock band, she still talks to her mom twice a day (when she wakes up and just before she goes to bed, too cute!), and she is well-spoken and articulate. You know how I feel about corporations but you know, it’s awesome to see women succeeding and I was enjoying the interview until…

…the obesity question popped up. She was quick to clarify that PepsiCo manufactures things other than “junk food” (Quaker oatmeal products, which are a win in my book) but the guy interviewing pressed the question. What should she be doing about this crisis? She initially responded with, “We have to first look at what causes obesity,” and I was two seconds from honking my horn in the pre-dawn light with glee. Someone is going to talk about this shit! For reals! Awesome!

And then she said obesity is caused by people consuming too many calories and not burning enough off. And then I thought about all the really thin people I know who eat twice or three times as much as me and don’t exercise and don’t gain an ounce. And then I stabbed myself in the face with my displeasure.

I did my fair share of calorie counting back in the day and this what I learned:
1. I rarely ate more than 1,200 calories a day (this was without restricting myself)
2. If I went over the “goal” I had set for myself (somewhere between 1,250 and 1,500), even if only by 20 calories, I spent the next few days feeling like a miserable failure.
3. Because I spent the next few days feeling like a miserable failure, I fell face-first into every food substance within reach.

Nooyi went on to talk about how when she was little, she got home from school and immediately went outside to play. Well, so did I. Your point being, Ms. Nooyi? She also said that nowadays, kids come home and go straight to the computer (she said specifically her child does this), to which I answer…okay then, restrict your child’s computer time. I know, easier said than done. A lot of parents aren’t home to enforce those restrictions and kids are, sadly, more or less left to their own devices between school letting out and their parents arriving home from work.

She did mention the time crunch that most Americans feel these days. It’s much easier to grab something from a drive-thru (or something from the freezer section of the store) than it is to go home and prepare a meal (and a healthy one, at that). I think this is a valid point that a lot of people overlook when they rail on folks for being overweight. Another point they overlook: the cost of living verses what people bring home. I’ve mentioned this before but it bears repeating: a lot of people just can’t afford to stock their fridges with produce every fews days or every week. It’s expensive and you can get so much more mileage out of other foods for less money.

Anyway, I went from being totally enamored with this woman to having to click off the radio before I punched my fist through it. Another funny thing I heard on the radio: an advertisement for CBT (cognitive behavior therapy) for people who want to “overcome fears, depression, smoking, or overweight”. How, exactly, does one overcome overweight?

Non-related item: if you aren’t hooked up with Pandora yet, you really need to get over there and check it out, especially if you are in need of some new music. I have been listening to my Ryan Adams Radio the entire week and haven’t gotten tired of it yet. I also have Mazzy Star Radio, The Album Leaf Radio, and Dave Matthews Band Radio, but I don’t listen to that last one because guess what? It just plays music I already listen to.

Posted on March 22, 2008, in Adventures with Sparkle Pants, All about Sparkle Pants, Fat Pants, Rant, Show tunes!, You made baby Jesus cry!. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Calories in, calories out.

Comments are closed.

