The catch-up game

A post written yesterday.

**

Wherein I suck as me

This weekend, I totally dropped the ball. I didn’t clean my room, I didn’t fix my iTunes, and I didn’t do a damn thing to observe Human Rights Day. I succumbed to the dark and twisty side and spend the weekend (mostly yesterday) curled up in a blanket on the couch, staring at the television or napping or eating. I didn’t feel like moving. Didn’t feel like cleaning or talking or socializing or moving or breathing. I just wanted to sit and stare and have all the food in the world magically get from a location not near me to a location inside me. I tried very hard to ignore headlines about Human Rights Day and the Global Day for Darfur and all the women rallying to stop rape as a weapon of war in Darfur, which is something I want to spend the rest of my life doing. I tried and generally, I succeeded. Because I just didn’t have the capacity to care at that point in time. I didn’t have the capacity to deal with my own guilt over not even planning to do anything, so when the dark and twisty side opened its door to me, I ran through it like my ass was on fire.

So now it’s Monday, the first day of a relatively busy week. The work week ends on my birthday and I’m taking that afternoon off because I can (and also because I worked four hours on Saturday morning). This week I have meetings (rare for me) and lots of quality time with the Spreadsheet of Doom(tm). Also, it looks as if someone set off a new-clee-ur (being from a similar region of the country like dear leader, Arbusto, I tend to say “nukeular” instead of new-clee-ur) bomb at my desk.

Next week might be slower. It might be busier. I just don’t know. What I do know, however, is that it’s a short week for me. I only work four days and then Friday, I set off into the great wide open for the holidays. That’s right, I’m driving home. I’ll pretend that this doesn’t both freak me out and excite the living hell out of me. Do you have any idea how hard it’s going to be to not stop at every breathtaking vista and take 200 million pictures? Actually, it probably won’t be too hard since I’ll know that my mom will physically hurt me if I don’t show up in a timely manner.

I’m working on a list of things to pack in the car, just in case something horrible happens. The list includes two blankets, my most inclimate-weather-worthy shoes (Docs), extra gloves and hats and scarves, matches, candles, a coffee can (for melting water and holding said candles), water, a flashlight, extra batteries, non-perishable food, and a can opener. Then there are the essential non-emergency things like my knitting, my suitcase, my iPod, my phone, my atlases, my confirmations of a hotel reservation, and myself. I’m looking forward to the trip. Mostly I am looking forward to the smell-good sanctuary of my mom and dad’s house and seeing my brother and parents in their natural habitat. My brother just bought a huge fuck-off telescope that must’ve cost him at least a thousand dollars. I think we shall go star gazing! It’s a total throw-back to our childhood.

Dita von Teese (the iPod, not the woman) is sitting patiently on my desk waiting to spin some Sufjan for me, but I have a presentation to attend in a mere 20 minutes so I’m not sure if I’ll play it now or wait. I must, however, get back to dashing the dreams and hopes of our librarians on call number at a time.

Posted on December 12, 2006, in Adventures with Sparkle Pants, All about Sparkle Pants, Bullet In the Brain-Pan, Rambling, Sparkle Pants does Politics, Sparkling family tree. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The catch-up game.

  1. Solo road trip? Sounds like a dream come true for me…I can’t imagine having that much time to myself.

    Have a safe trip!

