Cizouch

While we wait for our couch to show arrive, I’m going to address Miroslav’s specific questions asked in a comment to my previous post.

1) My initial question from my comment: “At some point is the only option to go out there and shoot the terrorist right smack in his head and end his miserable, pain-causing life?”

I think it’s inevitable. Governments sponsor terrorism and that has to be controlled. The thing is, most countries that sponsor terrorism have larger countries dependent on them (Saudi Arabia and the United States, Sudan and China) and our addiction to oil makes it really hard to come down on those who supply the things we so greedily consume, myself included (I mean, I have to put a quart of oil in my car ever 900 miles!). I think bin Laden is in Somalia. I think our country’s war on terror is exclusive to the countries that control oil. But that’s another post!

At any rate, you might be right, Miroslav. Then again, you might be wrong. I’m against the death penalty. So I guess that’s MY answer.

2. You wrote: “Israel is just as guilty as killing innocent civilians for mindless reasons as Hezbollah, the United States, Russia, and just about every other country involved in war.” – Really? You don’t draw any boundaries between, for instance: The USA’s armed forces and their operations and lets say, Al Qaeda and their terror attacks on civilians (ala 9/11)?

I do draw a boundary between our troops as a whole and Al Qaeda. However, when I brought up the U.S., I meant soldiers killing in cold blood, our treatment of the Native Americans and Japanese-Americans and German-Americans, our treatment of prisoners of war…pretty much we’re shitty to people we don’t like. Which is like, everyone.

3) “… am sad to see so much of our policies enacted in their brutal, unrelenting slaughter of pregnant women whose babies have to be cut from them, the babies’ bodies riddled with bullets.” – What? Do you honestly believe that Israel is TARGETING civilians? … ok scratch that question. Here is my real #3 question: Do you think that Israel is a victim of ongoing terrorist attacks and has a right to defend herself? (or perhaps do you call the suicide bombers FreedomFighters?)

I answered this in my earlier post! I think Israel has every right to be pissed as hell that Hezbollah keeps killing their citizens. I don’t call the suicide bombers freedom fighters but one man’s terrorist is another man’s freedom fighter. I don’t support suicide bombing; I think it’s a cowardly way to deal with things. But no one can deny that there are people who support and understand what the suicide bombers are doing. I just don’t happen to be one of those people.

Now. My couch will be here in an hour or so because the guy I bought it from? Just as lazy as us. I felt like telling him that we had woken up early and EVERYTHING. But alas.

Posted on July 29, 2006, in Adventures with Sparkle Pants, All about Sparkle Pants, Pretty happy fun friends, Sparkle Pants does Politics. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Cizouch.

  1. Great post. Thank you for answering my questions!

    I like lots of what was written here really. Not that you really care if I like what you have to say or not. ;)

    “At any rate, you might be right, Miroslav. Then again, you might be wrong.”
    &
    “I answered this in my earlier post! I think Israel has every right to be pissed as hell that Hezbollah keeps killing their citizens. I don’t call the suicide bombers freedom fighters but one man’s terrorist is another man’s freedom fighter.”

    Yes, agreed. That is why I tend to harken back to the ol’, “Let God sort us out” sort of thinking.

    I don’t think the suicide bombers are cowardly. I think many of them are poor, manipulated pawns at the hands of religious zealots with evil intentions of world domination through any means necessary (including terror, war, occupation, etc). I don’t think Israel has any such goals. I think they would be quite happy to live in peace with their Arab neighbors in the small piece of land that remains Israel. They have shown to me, time and time again, the willingness to have restraint, go the extra mile, and give up land in exchange for peace. Meanwhile, the extremist religious zealots recruit more and more people to their cause and send them to their deaths.

    We agree on this much, it is a sad, violent, and ugly situation that is resulting in the deaths of many innocents. That is a horrible thing.

    Love to ya.

