Mud bridge VOLCANO!

So I got fingered as supporting a terrorist group tonight. Not the first time, I’ll grant you, but the first time by someone I know. You all can read the comment yourselves, so now’s the time to answer the questions/defend my post/whatever.

First things first. I don’t support Hezbollah. I don’t support what they stand for. I don’t support their ruthless, mindless killing. I don’t support terrorism. In the same turn, I don’t support terrorism made up to look like something else. Israel is just as guilty as killing innocent civilians for mindless reasons as Hezbollah, the United States, Russia, and just about every other country involved in war. Israel is no more exempt from the rules of engagement than any other country. I think both sides are wrong, both sides should be punished, and that the U.N. has every right to be pissed as all hell at Israel for bombing a U.N. structure that was clearly marked and had been shelled repeatedly days leading up to the fatal accident. I think Israel has every right to be pissed as hell that Hezbollah keeps killing their citizens. I think the Lebanese have every right to be pissed as hell that Israel keeps bombing ambulances and aid convoys.

How would I feel if someone threatened my loved ones? How would I feel if some fuckwad held a gun to my best friend’s head? How would I feel if someone tried to rape me? (Oh, wait…) I would be furious. I would be blinded by rage. Do I think I could kill that person? Maybe. I honestly can’t say how I would react. I’ve been told by various people that they would kill a person who hurt me. How do I feel about that? Flattered, obviously, but sad. I think punishment is necessary and justice is unquestionably of the utmost importance but I, as I am right now, wouldn’t be happy if that person died because of me. It seems like the easy way out. An end to their suffering. Rehabilitate them in prison. Let them see the error of their ways. And then let them stay in that tiny cell until they die. Maybe that’s how I feel.

To sum it all up, I don’t support either side but I am incredibly disappointed in Israel and am sad to see so much of our policies enacted in their brutal, unrelenting slaughter of pregnant women whose babies have to be cut from them, the babies’ bodies riddled with bullets. I don’t stand with Hezbollah. But I sure as hell don’t stand with Israel either. I don’t know how to fix terrorism. I don’t know if it can ever be fixed. Terrorism has existed as long as humans have roamed the earth. Our founding parents did the same to the Native Americans.

If any of this makes me a bad person, if it makes you think less of me, then that’s the way it’s going to be.

Posted on July 28, 2006, in All about Sparkle Pants, Rant, Sparkle Pants does Politics. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Mud bridge VOLCANO!.

  1. Not sure where the bad person/think less of you part comes from. Certainly not the case for this here crazy right winger.

    Your call to imprison/rehabilitate those who won’t play by the rules is agreeably the best option, but it leads me back to the question I posed in my original comment…

    But now I’ve got 3 questions:

    1) My initial question from my comment: “At some point is the only option to go out there and shoot the terrorist right smack in his head and end his miserable, pain-causing life?”

    2) You wrote: “Israel is just as guilty as killing innocent civilians for mindless reasons as Hezbollah, the United States, Russia, and just about every other country involved in war.” – Really? You don’t draw any boundaries between, for instance: The USA’s armed forces and their operations and lets say, Al Qaeda and their terror attacks on civilians (ala 9/11)?

    3) “… am sad to see so much of our policies enacted in their brutal, unrelenting slaughter of pregnant women whose babies have to be cut from them, the babies’ bodies riddled with bullets.” – What? Do you honestly believe that Israel is TARGETING civilians? … ok scratch that question. Here is my real #3 question: Do you think that Israel is a victim of ongoing terrorist attacks and has a right to defend herself? (or perhaps do you call the suicide bombers FreedomFighters?)

    Obviously, civilians are being killed at the hands of Israel. Only a fool would argue that. But the way in which you write about Israel, you are lumping them together with purposed terror groups whose goal is to harm innocents with the ultimate goal of a complete annihilation of a people group(Hamas and Hezbollah and Al Qaeda for instance).

    My sympathy is slow to rise for the Lebonese government, along with the other countries who harbor agressive terror groups. I agree wholeheartedly with your ache for the people caught in the middle of all this. The YOU AND ME sort of folks who are not whacko extremists, and neither are they hard line loyalists. Most of those caught in the crossfire are likely poor and uneducated folks.

    Much love to ya’ even though we are worlds apart on this one.

  2. 1) No.
    2) No.
    3) Perhaps, depending on the scale at which they retaliate.

  3. I wouldn’t worry about it. I totally agreed with your initial post and think it was the more informed stance to take. Israel is a racist nation and most people who line up on my side of the political line are not Zionists for that reason. That is not to say I support the violence of the others either…but we never hear their side of the story here in the US and it deserves to be heard.

