Friday Ten, version omgEARLY

1. David Gray – The Other Side (A New Day At Midnight)
A while back, I saw a homemade “video” for this song and it consisted of someone walking around this beautiful, dreary countryside. It was very desolate, very solitary, and has changed the way I listen to this song.

2. Van Morrison – Brown Eyed Girl (Blowin’ Your Mind)
Makes me think of ku nkiko. Also Howie Day because of the cover of it I have by him where he tries so hard to BE Van Morrison. Howie was in his late teens/early twenties and he sounds so funny squawking out the lyrics.

3. Howie Day – Morning After (EP version but not sure which EP)
Speak of the devil. This song is old, in terms of Howie’s career. Ku nkiko discovered that what I thought was a duplicate of Morning After was actually a different album version, so I’m not sure if this is from the White EP or not. Like you care. This was one of the first songs of Howie’s (after Ghost) I ever heard and I fell in love with the way he says “hair” at the beginning. And the whole “I’d really like to feel you at dinner” thing. He’s so strange.

4. Dave Matthews Band – I Did It (Everyday)
I’ve yet to figure out what Dave did but this video is the funniest damn thing I have ever seen. Particularly the part where Dave goes cosmic about that woman’s breasts.

5. Dave Matthews Band – Don’t Drink the Water (Before These Crowded Streets)
Apparently this is the DMB version of the Friday Ten. I don’t think you can fully appreciate DDTW until you’ve seen it live and even then, I think you need to put on the Central Park cd or dvd on a good sound system to realize that oh my god, this song is amazing. Show opener in Raleigh last summer.

6. Third Day – Sing Praises (Come Together)
One of the few Christian bands I can tolerate! Huzzah! This song has a great little riff that makes me want to jump up and down like a four-year-old.

7. The Decemberists – The Infanta (Picaresque)
I’ve been trying to figure out what it is about The Decemberists that has hooked me so completely and I think it’s the very magical, mystical, fantastic quality of the music. It’s so old-worldly and yet so modern that it boggles the mind. They are amazing musicians and the music they create together is beautiful. The lyrics to this song have to be read to be believed. I mean, who uses “from all atop the parapets blow a multitude of coronets” in a song these days?

8. Donovan – Catch the Wind
I have to cut this short now because I just realized I have 15 minutes to get ready for work!

9. Snoop Dogg – Beautiful (feat. Pharrell, Uncle Charlie Wilson)
LOVE THIS SONG.

10. Nsync – Makes Me Ill
LITERAL CHOREOGRAPHY AT ITS VERY BEST!!!!!!!!!

Posted on June 23, 2006, in Show tunes!. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Friday Ten, version omgEARLY.

  1. I discovered the Donovan song on an ad last year. Excellent song. Reminds me of Dylan.

  2. Ku nkiko grew up listening to that song, her mom would play it on the guitar. As such, kn got me hooked on it.

  3. 10. Nsync – Makes Me Ill
    LITERAL CHOREOGRAPHY AT ITS VERY BEST!!!!!!!!!

    *snort*
    lmao Classic! OMG! I just realized, I have ONE, count it (or don’t cause you know, it’s ONE) NSYNC song on here. Well, it’s not even an album song per se, it’s just Chris singing “Falling” live at a concert. And only part of it. Then Justin goes off and ruins it by singing it on the import.

    ANYWAY! My point is, I have more Justin and JC on here than I do NSYNC. WEIRD! What is going on tonight?? haha I now am in dire need of my CDs more than ever!

