They will know us by the really gross pictures of dead people

Is anyone else disturbed by the government flashing the pictures of Zarqawi’s dead face all over the place? I mean, why not go ahead and strap him to the hood of Air Force One? When I heard about this earlier in the morning, I was half asleep and listening to NPR. I didn’t hit snooze because I could tell by the sound of the reporter’s voice that this was something I needed to listen to. I can’t say I was totally awash with glee. Over at the BBC News “Have Your Say” on this, some people are expressing doubt. Doubt that this is going to change anything (it won’t). Someone has already yelled at these “pro-insurgency” people because not throwing a victory celebration over the death of another human being obviously means you love terrorists, hate America, and deserve to die, you lousy scum.

On a brighter note, I should be packing and guess what? I’m making this post and eating cereal. I have 50 minutes to get dressed, throw the last of my toiletries into the suitcase, and head out the door. I’m all checked in for my flights today and hopefully Delta won’t bump my flight up half an hour like they did to ku nkiko when she flew west a few weeks ago. I mean, I don’t need anymore time in Atlanta. Believe me.

Have a good weekend, y’all!

Posted on June 8, 2006, in Adventures with Sparkle Pants, All about Sparkle Pants, Pretty happy fun friends, Sparkle Pants does Politics, These Pants were made for traveling, TV machine. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on They will know us by the really gross pictures of dead people.

  1. It is definitly greusome, but a lot of people around the world a) wanted this guy taken out, and b) won’t take the U.S. at its word and need proof. It was the same when Saddam’s sons were killed. Yes, there are a lot of people who relish these images far too much, but showing them is arguably a necessary evil.

  2. yes. I’m disturbed. War trophying is something I’ve often heard the US criticize other entities for, but CNN must have flashed his dead face 4 times in a 5 minute slot last night.

    I don’t think we need to put heads on bayonets to prove our sick power, and I don’t want to see dead people.

    A death –anyone’s– is to grieve, not to avenge.

