You dirty pot-stirrer!

Being a rogue blogger also means you get to stir the pot a little. And add to the pot. I mean, I could add some cumin and there would be nothing that any of you could do about it. Except ku nkiko, who pretty much owns this place.

Of all the things Squinty McGee and his band of merry men could chose to deal with right now, gay marriage seems kind of a ridiculous choice. We have Marines accused of committing war crimes and possibly facing murder charges. We have Donald Rumsfeld, Father of All That Is Horrible and Wrong, sitting smugly on his throne of lies. And I’m convinced the NSA has been hanging out in my apartment during the day, eating my stash of garlic bread and exposing Paul Anka the Wonder Fish to direct sunlight.

I’d rather hear Bush tell me what he’s going to do about alternative forms of fuel. I don’t want to hear him say that we’re working on it. I don’t want to hear him condescend the American people about how alternative forms of fuel exist already, so stop complaining. I don’t want to hear him talk about how we could have a corn shortage. Corn farmers are loving the sudden demand for corn. It means their families can eat. I don’t want to hear about corn farming corporations that will destroy what few farming communities remain. I want to hear about new regulations. I want to hear about ways to make alternative fuel and fuel efficient cars available to everyone at a low cost. Biodiesel is self-defeating if, after spending the money to convert your car, you have to drive 70 miles to the nearest station without a guarantee that the biodiesel will be available.

I’d rather hear the government tell me how we’re going to help Iraqis. Not what kind of fabulous new Americanized government we’re going to give them, but what kind of support we’re going to provide for the women we’ve made into widows. You can put an American face on the new Iraqi government but the traditional customs and ideals will still exist. These women will have a very hard time finding ways to support their children. What few of them are left.

I still don’t think religiosity is a good way to govern. I can’t in good conscience force non-Christians to adhere to Christian law. However, if Christian law must prevail here, then we must allow for Sharia law to prevail in Afghanistan and Jewish law to prevail in Israel.

Posted on June 5, 2006, in Sparkle Pants does Politics, Sparkle Pants does Religion. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on You dirty pot-stirrer!.

  1. Amen!

  2. >You can put an American face on the new Iraqi government but the traditional customs and ideals will still exist.

    Not if all the Iraqis are dead.

    >I can’t in good conscience force non-Christians to adhere to Christian law.

    There is no “Christian law.” Because Jesus died to set us free from the law. So that we would no longer be bound by it.

    Some people would do well to remember that. Those who live by the law, die by the law, and will be judged under it.

  3. Have I told you you rock lately? No? You rock.

