Friday Ten

1. Grant Lee Buffalo – Fuzzy (Fuzzy)
Listening to GLB, regardless of the song, reminds me of high school is this dewdrop, soft focus, sepia tone way.

2. Boyz II Men – So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday (Cooleyhighharmony)
I remember sitting next to Lori at baccalaureate (sp?) snapping along to this because it was the thing to do when your classmates single-handedly turned the end of your high school days into a funeral.

3. Ozzy Osbourne – Crazy Train (Blizzard of Ozz)
And this makes me think of that guy/girl with the assless jeans. And screaming along to all the songs with AJ and then having Mrs. Sikes tell us our shirts were offensive because they said “sucks.” She was dumb.

4. Rockapella – Southern Cross (live) (??)
I’m not sure if we ever figured out if this is actually Rockapella but whoever it is does an amazing job. This song makes me think of my BFF. It’s fun to listen to her sing along with Rockapella (or anything) because she has such a lovely singing voice.

5. G. Love & Jack Johnson – Surf Song (??)
What do you expect? It’s G. Love and Jack Johnson, so take what you know of each and blend it all together and you have Surf Song. Perfection.

6. Liz Phair – Why Can’t I? (Liz Phair)
Sad.

7. Sheryl Crow – My Favorite Mistake (The Globe Sessions)
All I can think about is that she slept with Eric Clapton. For some reason, it really wigs me out. I’m not a big fan of Sheryl but I love this song more than I care to admit.

8. Missy Higgins – The Sound of White (The Sound of White)
You’re my mystery. One mystery. My mystery.

9. Third Day – Love Song (Offerings: A Worship Album)
One of the small handful of Christian bands I can stomach anymore. It doesn’t hurt that they’re like, the just about the hottest Christian band. I say ‘just about’ because I’m sorry but my heart will always belong to Dan Hasteltine of Jars of Clay. Oh, and Ethan! WHEAT THINS! God, I miss Ethan. I miss his tattoos. I miss his black fingernails.

10. Barenaked Ladies – Pinch Me (Maroon)
One of the most depressing songs I’ve ever heard. This song describes how I’ve felt for the past six years.

Posted on June 2, 2006, in Show tunes!. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Friday Ten.

Comments are closed.

