I heart banned books

Before I bore you with my own mindless drivel, go over to Fanatical Apathy (opens in new window) and see the funny Adam Felber posted today. If you don’t know who Adam Felber is, I’m sorry but we can no longer be friends.

What would it take to get a book banned these days? I’m assuming something about terrorists and Christians (Christian terrorists?) and Iraq and the government (I could call the book 1984!). Maybe it could be about gay marriage and feminists or babies on spikes (I need to see Eddie Izzard).

In all seriousness, what do you think it would take to get a book banned? I’m going to do some research and get back to you. But in the meantime, throw your opinions into the internet ether. We’ll see where it gets us.

Posted on May 16, 2006, in Sparkle Pants does Literature. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on I heart banned books.

  1. hmmm, to get a book banned…

    Well, a lot of people try to ban a lot of books for different reasons. If you put sex in it, and witchcraft, and gay men (most people don’t really seem to care much about lesbians) and Jesus and…gay marriage, like maybe have Jesus get a gay marriage using witchcraft? And He could run a methlab on the side? And teach kids how to make meth?

