Why my next laptop should be a Mac.

My computer at home is absolutely, 100% messed the hell up. I know how to fix it, thanks to lots of other people with the same problem, but it’s just going to be a pain in my ass and it’s going to take a lot of time and I’m not looking forward to doing it tonight when I get home. I run XP because thanks to Microsoft, it was virtually impossible for me to continue running 98. Nothing worked on it. At all. And for the most part, I’ve been reasonably happy with XP. It’s pretty and has nifty photo viewers and the like, which makes my life easier. Also, my dvd program actually works in XP, unlike it did in 98. Hurray for these things!

But not hurray for all the spyware and trojans that are now HAVING A PARTY IN MY INTERNET EXPLORER. I hardly EVER use it. But I did a while back, for some really strange reason. I don’t remember why. But I did and guess what? My computer has become almost useless. I can’t use AIM. Windows crashes, IE starts automatically now every time I restart but then IE crashes because it is really lame.

I want an PowerBook. One of my coworkers has one and he’s let me use it to look at pictures a few times. I love it. It’s small. It’s silver. It’s speedy. It’s gorgeous. I want one. I can’t afford one. I am going to end up buying a refurbed Toshiba/IBM/Dell/Acer/Sony because they are moderately priced. It’s that whole no credit thing. When I make a purchase like this one, the money goes away right then, which means I have to save, which is hard for me because lately, bad things have been happening and I’ve had to pay for things.

But I digress.

Pretty, pretty Mac. Don’t you want to be my next laptop? I will treat you nicely and take you out for coffee and you will allow me to write because you love me so, so much. And you will not get infected with things that will make me want to throw you out of a moving vehicle.

Sigh.

Posted on June 5, 2005, in Rant. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Why my next laptop should be a Mac..

  1. I’m still waiting for my Mac, too. However, being jobless and spending my days talking to a 2-yr-old is not helping my argument one bit.

    You know, my cackishmator still wears that apple we took off the puter in JB lab?

  2. Ha!! That’s hilarious. I had forgotten all about that. :D

