There are specific reasons I don’t take medicine.

I hate the way medicine makes me feel. As a child, I suffered a lot from allergies, colds, and infections of every variety. I took that nasty pink antibiotic medicine that tasted like death, we had an impressive collection of Dimatap (?) bottles, and I took allergy medicine like it was candy. All of it left me feeling gross and disconnected and since then, I have avoided taking medicine until my very life depended on it. Then I would dope myself up and hide for a few days.

These days, I’m fortunate that my allergies rarely bother me and that I don’t seem prone to colds or the flu. The migraines more than make up for the lack of illness. I swear my brain is dying. But that isn’t the point. The point is, today I had to take medicine. I developed the worst sinus headache and a sore throat (which I keep misspelling), of all things. My coworker had miraculous green pills that made it go away! Huzzah!

Except now I’m a wee bit loopy. And this is non-drowsy medicine. Where’s the justice? You just can’t win.

In other news, I just want to take a minute to pat John Mayer on the back. You go, Gayer.

Posted on May 18, 2005, in Adventures with Sparkle Pants, All about Sparkle Pants, Boys can be stupid too, Show tunes!. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on There are specific reasons I don’t take medicine..

Comments are closed.

